Requiem Service 2018

Posted on May 28, 2018

There will be a Requiem in the form of a Eucharist for those musicians whose names are in the Book of Remembrance on Tuesday 6th November 2018 at 6.30 pm. The Choir of St Sepulchre’s, directed by Peter Asprey, will the music of the Requiem by Fauré.

The next Service of Thanksgiving will be on Tuesday 23rd April 2019 at 6.00 pm and be sung by the Choir of Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge, under the direction of Dr Geoffrey Webber. The preacher will be the Right Reverend Graeme Knowles, CVO.

Service of Thanksgiving 2018

Posted on November 9, 2017

The 2018 Service of Thanksgiving took place on Tuesday 1st May at 6 pm. The Service was sung by the Choir of Royal Holloway, University of London directed by Rupert Gough.  The preacher was the Lord Bishop of Ely, The Right Reverend Stephen Conway.  The Service was be conducted by The Revd David Ingall, Rector of St. Sepulchre’s.

2017 Inscriptions

Posted on May 13, 2017

The following people were remembered through inscription in the Book of Remembrance this year:

Name Profession Birth-Death
Oliver Bannister Flautist 1926-2014
Guy Bennett Trombonist, Conductor 1958-2016
Neil Black Oboist 1932-2016
Paul Blissett Pianist 1938-2016
Rosie Cracknell Singer, Songwriter 1953-2015
Paul Anthony Davis Conductor, Pianist 1938-2016
Barry Draycott Organist 1934-2016
Rosemary Dunn Violist 1938-2016
David Gedge Organist 1968-2016
Alasdair Graham Pianist 1934-2016
Clifford Hewis Organist 1910-1989
Michael Hill Pianist, Administrator 1945-2016
Alfreda Hodgson Contralto 1940-1992
Christine Jackson Cellist 1962-2016
Sydney (Bill) Jackson Trumpeter, Teacher 1929-2015
Michael James Organist, Conductor 1951-1981
Peter James Conductor 1940-2016
David Johnston Tenor 1931-2016
Helen Just Chamber Musician 1903-1989
Lina Lalandi-Emery Harpsichordist 1920-2012
Tim Lawrence Tenor 1988-2015
Lawrence (Laurie) Lewis Violinist 1931-2016
Pamela Majaro Chamber Musician 1932-2016
Noel Mander Organ builder 1912-2005
Neville Marriner Violinist, Conductor 1924-2016
Peter Maxwell Davies Composer 1934-2016
John Milton-Tayler Drummer, Teacher 1934-2016
Karen O’Connor Oboist 1956-2016
William R.H. Petter Tenor 1982-2016
Martin Pickering Tenor, Conductor 1955-2016
Norman Platt Founder Kent Opera 1920-2004
Richard Popplewell Organist, Choirmaster 1935-2016
Jean Price Harpist 1950-2016
Joyce Rathbone Pianist 1929-2010
Paul Robertson Violinist 1952-2016
Brian Sharp Organist, Pianist 1937-2016
John Shirley-Quirk Bass Baritone 1931-2016
Peter Melville Smith Piano Teacher 1943-2016
Shelley Stannus Gunning Cellist 1937-2016
Paul Steinitz Conductor, Scholar 1909-1988
Jennifer Ward Clarke Cellist 1935-2015
Robin Wells Organist, Conductor 1943-2016
Hazel Wood Mezzo soprano 1936-2016
Guy Woolfenden Composer 1937-2016

Service of Thanksgiving 2017

Posted on February 1, 2017

This year’s Annual Service of Thanksgiving in memory of those newly inscribed into the Book of Remembrance in the Musicians’ Chapel took place on Tuesday 2nd May 2017 at 6.00 pm and was sung by the Choir of the Royal Academy of Music directed by Patrick Russill. The preacher was The Dean of Westminster, The Very Reverend Dr John Hall.  Dr Hall has kindly made a transcript of his address available; to download please click here.

2016 Inscriptions

Posted on May 1, 2016

The following names were inscribed in the Book of Remembrance this year:

Name Profession Birth–Death
Pauline Brockless Soprano 1929–2015
Nicholas Busch Principal Horn 1939–2013
Alfred Clow Woodwind Teacher 1938–2014
Eugéne Collins Pianist 1927–2015
Denys Darlow Conductor, Organist 1921–2015
Sister André Dullaghan Singing Teacher 1937–2015
Bryan Fairfax Conductor, Violinist 1925–2014
Rod Franks Trumpeter 1956–2014
Wilfred Gibson Violinist, Composer 1942–2014
Sydney Humphreys Violinist, Teacher 1926–2015
Kay Hurwitz Violist 1920–2014
Derek James Principal Trombone 1929–2014
Richard Lewis Tenor 1914–1990
John McCabe Composer 1939–2015
Sybil Michelow Contralto 1925–2013
David Nevens Composer 1945–2015
Howard Parkhouse Organist, Conductor 1946–2015
Alison Pottinger Pianist 1930–2015
Michael Procter Choral Director 1951–2012
John Railton Choral Director 1929–2013
Michael Rayner Baritone 1932–2015
Howard Rees Composer, Teacher 1945–2011
Christopher Regan Organist, Administrator 1929–2015
Barbara Robotham Mezzo Soprano 1936–2013
Richard N. Scarth Organist, Scholar 1930–2014
John Scott Organist 1956–2015
Frank Shipway Conductor 1935–2014
Christopher Tambling Composer 1964–2015
William E. Webber Organist 1895–1961
David Willcocks Choral Musician 1919–2015

Catherine Bott’s Address

Posted on May 18, 2015

Catherine Bott has kindly given us a copy of her address from the 2015 Musicians’ Memorial Service.  You can download a copy here

Musicians’ Chapel Dedication on Film

Posted on May 12, 2012

While cleaning out the vestry at St Sepulchre after the latest round of improvement works, we discovered a 16mm film of the dedication of the Musicians’ Chapel. We have had it transferred to digital, and you can now view it on youtube: